The role of fossil fuels in a net zero emissions energy sector

Free for all professionals and students working in geosciences – just REGISTER!
Go to REGISTRATION for details!

The first ever TSOP Roundtable Discussion will take place on Friday, September 16th, 2022 at 6:05am Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST, UTC + 10), and will run for 70 minutes.

The discussion aims to provide attendees with regional perspectives on the alignment between industry, policy and the public concerning the energy transition, and the outlook for regional greenhouse gas emissions reduction, along with insights into the roles of geoscience and engineering researchers in this transition.

The session will start with approximately 20 minutes of pre-recorded videos from the panellists in which they address key issues around fossil fuel use and the energy transition for their region, followed by 50 minutes of interactive discussion and questions.  

  Roundtable discussion moderator
Prof. Hamed Sanei

Hamed is a Professor and Research Chair in organic petrology and geochemistry in the Department of Geoscience, Aarhus University, Denmark. He is the Director of the Lithospheric Organic Carbon Laboratory (LOC). He was formerly a Senior Research Scientist with the Geological Survey of Canada and the President of The Society for Organic Petrology (TSOP).


Roundtable discussion panelists

  South America
Ms Carolina Gutiérrez Hernandez
Director of Sustainability, Colombian Mining Association

Ms. Carolina Gutiérrez is a Social Communicator and specialist in Public and Corporate Social Responsibility in Colombia. She is an expert in harmonization of relations between Government, Industry and Communities and in the construction of alliances for the sustainability of projects.

Carolina has worked as an advisor to the Office of the Minister of the Interior as a liaison on issues of children, criminal justice, gender equality and disability; as Director of Dissemination and Marketing in the National Administrative Department of Statistics, carrying out the communication strategy for the 2005 General Censu.

She was also in charge of the dissemination and positioning of the surveys produced by the entity; and as Social Advisor of the National Hydrocarbons Agency in charge of the relationship and social viability of the hydrocarbon projects.

She is currently the Director of Sustainability of the Colombian Mining Association and is in charge of the relationship with the academy, the improvement of skills, the participation mechanisms and since last year, of implementing with its affiliated companies the Canadian Mining Standard: Towards Sustainable Mining.
  North America
Prof. David Rutledge
Tomiyasu Professor of Engineering, California Institute of Technology

Professor David Rutledge is the Tomiyasu Professor of Engineering, Emeritus at Caltech, and a former Chair of the Division of Engineering and Applied Science there. 

He is a winner of the Teaching Award of the Associated Students at Caltech and a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers. He is a founder of the Wavestream Corporation, a manufacturer of transmitters for satellite uplinks. He is the author of the book Energy Supply and Demand with Cambridge University Press.
Mr. Mike Teke
Chief Executive Officer, Seriti Resources Holdings

Mr. Mike Teke is the CEO of Seriti Resources Holdings which he co-founded in 2018. His qualifications include a BA (Ed), BEd, BA (Hons) and an MBA.

Mike has held HR roles at several companies including Unilever, Bayer, Impala Platinum and BHP Billiton. Upon his departure at BHP Billiton, he became a founding member of Optimum Coal where he took on the role of CEO, and later Non-Executive Chairman until 2015.

Mike was also the VP of the Chamber of Mines in South Africa between 2011/12 and subsequently became the President from 2013 to 2017. He became the Chairman of the Richards Bay Coal Terminal Board in 2012 and stepped down in 2016 to become a Non-Executive Director and Chairman of the Remuneration Committee.

Mike currently serves as Executive Chairman and controlling shareholder of Masimong Group Holdings and Non-Executive Chairman for a number of companies, including Rolfes, Anchor Group, and is the Chairman of Council at the University of Johannesburg.
Mr. John Kessels
Independent Consultant, Energy, Circular Economy and Climate Change

Mr. John Kessels is an independent expert in climate change and energy. He was an editor for Clean Energy and a senior report writer at the International Energy Agency Clean Coal Centre based in London. In his role he was responsible for writing reports on country studies, carbon abatement and management issues pertaining to emissions trading and international agreements and frameworks on the use of clean energy technologies.

Before the IEA Clean Coal Centre he worked at the Energy Research Centre Policy Studies Unit in the Netherlands. A major part of his role was providing technical support for the Fourth Assessment on Climate Change for Working Group III report on Mitigation of Climate Change. He was also one of the scientists awarded a certificate for his contribution to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change Nobel Peace Prize in 2007. Originally he was from New Zealand and worked for CRL Energy Ltd as manager for the Climate Change Group.
Dr. Dietmar Tourbier
Science Director and Deputy Director, CSIRO Energy Business Unit

Dr. Dietmar Tourbier is the Deputy Director and Science Director for the Energy business unit at CSIRO. Prior to this role Dietmar was the Director of the Australian Solar Thermal Research Institute (ASTRI) at CSIRO providing the vision, direction and strategic oversight for the delivery, adoption and impact of the ASTRI objectives.

Prior to joining CSIRO, Dietmar worked at General Electric for over 20 years and held various leading positions in corporate research including the leadership roles of GE’s solid oxide fuel cell division in California, the global power electronics technology research group and, most recently, GE’s European research division.

Dietmar received his Masters in aerospace engineering from the University of Stuttgart and his PhD in aerospace engineering from the University of Arizona. He also received his MBA from the UCLA Anderson School of Management.
Prof. Shu Jiang
Department Head, Department of Petroleum and Natural Gas Engineering, China University of Geosciences

Dr. Shu Jiang is a Chair Professor and Department Chair of the Department of Petroleum Engineering at the School of Earth Resources, China University of Geosciences at Wuhan.

Previously, he worked for University of Utah, University of Colorado at Boulder, and CNOOC. He has more than 20 years’ experience in the integrated study of geology, geochemistry and geophysics for the exploration and production of conventional and unconventional petroleum and geothermal resources in Asia, North America, South America and Africa.

He is a Certified Petroleum Geologist (CPG), active member of AAPG. He also serves as an Advisory Member of the AAPG Shale Gas & Liquids Committee and the China National Research Center for Geothermal Development and Utilization. He has convened and chaired several international meetings and has published more than 100 peer-reviewed papers in leading professional journals. He currently serves as Deputy Associate Editor for Interpretation and Petroleum Science.